SFZC monks with Shinji Eshima at the SF Ballet’s RAkU in 2011.

Resounding Compassion:
A Concert for Peace

Benefitting the Restoration of Shinryu-in Temple in Japan
and San Francisco Zen Center’s Beginner’s Mind Temple

Monday, June 4, 8 pm (followed by reception)
SF Conservatory of Music
50 Oak Street, San Francisco

Resounding Compassion brings together a diverse group of performers from the worlds of music, dance, and poetry. The concert, part of SFZC’s 50th anniversary celebrations, will feature two musical premieres and two forms of dance, and will benefit two Buddhist temples. Event proceeds will go to rebuilding Shinryu-in, damaged by last year’s tsunami in Japan, and renovating SFZC’s urban temple, City Center.

If you can’t attend the concert but would like to support the renovation of City Center, SFZC’s urban temple, or to make a donation in addition to the ticket purchase, please use the “Donate Now” button (right).

The concert will premiere original works by Shinji Eshima, a double-bassist in the SF Ballet and SF Opera Orchestras, and will feature Pascal Molat, a principal dancer with the SF Ballet, who will sound a peace bell created from bullets and artillery by artist Al Farrow. The performance will incorporate a reading of A Peace Benediction, a new poem by Jane Hirshfield.

There will be music by Bach and Mozart, a butoh performance by Judith Kajiwara, a dance performance by Brenda Wong Aoki, and chanting by monks from San Francisco Zen Center.


Concert Program

Shinji Eshima Premieres Original Piece All’s Farrow
Featuring New Bell Sculpted by Al Farrow
Performed by SF Ballet’s Principal Dancer Pascal Molat

Chaconne by JS Bach
Performed by Violist Chihiro Fukuda

Butoh Dance Performance
By Famed Butoh Dancer Judith Kajiwara
Koto Virtuoso Shoko Hikage

Dance Performance
By Brenda Wong Aoki
Emmy-Award Winner Mark Izu (Bass, Sho)

Il Fazzoletto Concert Aria
By Shinji Eshima with text from Award-Winning Author Jerome Oremland MD
Performed by SF Opera Chorus member Sally Munro (Mezzo), and Olga Rakitchenkov (Principal Harp, SF Opera)

Circle, Triangle, Square
World Premiere by Shinji Eshima with Text by Celebrated Poet Jane Hirshfield
Performed by Zen Center Abbot Steve Stücky, Members of the SF Zen Center Community, Olga Rakitchenkov (Principal Harp, SF Opera), and Percussionists Todd Manley and Brandi Brandes

Clarinet Quintet by Mozart
Performed by José Gonzalez Granero (Principal Clarinet, SF Opera Orchestra), Violinists Asuka Annie Yano (SF Opera), Beni Shinohara (SF Opera), Violist Chihiro Fukuda (SF Ballet), and Eric Sung (Principal Cellist, SF Ballet Orchestra) 

Shinji Eshima

Shinji Eshima, born in Berkeley, a graduate of Stanford University and of the Juilliard School, is a double-bassist in the San Francisco Ballet (Associate Principal) and San Francisco Opera Orchestras. He is on the faculty at San Francisco State University and the San Francisco Conservatory of Music. His instrument is the Plumerel bass (1843) featured in the painting by Degas, The Orchestra of the Opera. An award-winning composer, he has written for a variety of venues including theater, documentary film, chamber music, and opera. His most recent commission RAkU, was for San Francisco Ballet, choreographed by Yuri Possokhov. It premiered February 3, 2011.

Al Farrow

Sculptor Al Farrow has had numerous solo exhibitions since 1970, and is currently represented by Catharine Clark Gallery in San Francisco. His work has been in group shows at the Oakland Art Gallery, the San Francisco Arts Commission Gallery, Falkirk Cultural Center in Marin, the San Francisco Art Institute, and the Crocker Art Museum in Sacramento, among many others. He has over 20 years of bronze casting experience. His work is in many important public and private collections around the world, including the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and other collections in New York, Germany, Italy, and Hong Kong.

Pascal Molat

A native of Paris, France, Pascal Molat trained at Paris Opéra Ballet School and danced with Royal Ballet of Flanders and Les Ballets de Monte-Carlo before joining San Francisco Ballet as a soloist in 2002. He was promoted to principal dancer the following year. Molat has performed featured roles in many of the full-length classics, including Mercutio in Tomasson’s Romeo & Juliet and the Snow King in Tomasson’s Nutcracker.